Digital Democracy

A blog for the course New Media and a Democratic Society

Remix: War on Culture

Posted by clocke22 on November 7, 2010

3 Responses to “Remix: War on Culture”

  1. The message is rather vague here, I think.

  2. clocke22 said

    http://wendyuf.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/remix-culture-and-the-freakin-fcc/#comment-73

    http://fanninchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/remix-against-copyright/#comment-96

    http://tinamoore2222.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/shanzhai-remix-culture/#comment-115

  3. First, can I just say how much I love that little old lady? She absolutely cracks me up! And I’ve seen the ‘Imagine’ with George Bush before somewhere, but I’d forgotten it… and how much it made me laugh. Anyway, I had to comment on your video since I noticed you opened up with Copyright Criminals. I happened to use them in some research I did for a presentation on sampling a few years ago. The music/arts culture scene isn’t really my thing, so I wasn’t really up on the whole sampling phenomenon. Copyright Criminals (among others) take tiny bits and pieces of sometimes barely recognizable sound bites–think “Oh, the humanity” and “I am not a crook”–and mix them together, backwards, inside out, whatever… and they make music. Sort of. It’s not my taste, but it’s very interesting and something I meant to bring up in class on Wednesday. When Prof. McAdams mentioned her students thinking there was some sort of length-of-time grace period for “borrowing” material (i.e. less than 30 seconds) it made me think of a sampling lawsuit 15 or 20 years ago. A group like CC took Michael Jackson saying “beat it” in his song–just that one phrase–and played it backwards, sped up, and all distorted. You couldn’t even really tell what the original audio was, but somehow Jackson’s camp figured it out and sued anyway. Crazy, right?

Leave a Reply

 
