Digital Democracy

A blog for the course New Media and a Democratic Society

Media Diary Day 6

Posted by clocke22 on October 1, 2010

Today, like most days, began with listening to the radio while I got ready.  I don’t usually do this, but I did check my email on my phone before leaving the house.  Actually, while laying in bed thinking about getting up!  I headed to work, listening to the radio on the way.  I also (and please don’t tell Oprah!) checked my email and tried out Google calendar on the way to work.  At work, I turned on the computer and immediately turned on my Hotmail as well as my iTunes radio.  I started with 80s/90s but switched to pop half through the day for someting a little different.  During they day I checked Facebook a few times, sorted my print mail, checked my email several times, used the phone to return an  inquiry about open meetings (and a book to research the background information), skimmed another book to write a quick response paper, used Word to write a panel proposal for next year’s AEJMC convention, and overheard some radio while I ate lunch at the Reitz Union.  I also browsed the bookstore at the Reitz Union, where I mostly played with the iPads they have out for people to use, trying different apps and playing with the touchscreen capabilities.  I have wanted one since I used it at the bookstore a few months ago.  After lunch I did more email-ehecking.  I also printed several job postings from sites I hadn’t used before (good news is I found lots of opportunities, bad news I now have to sit down apply for another 40 jobs!).  I cleared off my desk and organized some articles and paperwork that had been piling up.

I listened to the radio on the way home.  Once at home, after walking the dog and checking the mail, I turned on Arrested Development via the Wii Netflix (Roswell is over…) and had that on while I checked my email again and then spent time writing the introduction to an article for my work (what I should have been doing instead of looking for jobs, actually). I used the internet a bit to look up some quotes I had in mind and also used a textbook for reference while I wrote the intro.  Then I paid a bill online and went to Wal-Mart to buy some Halloween stuff for my nieces and nephews.

Dinner and several episodes of Arrested Development later (which, by the way, I had never seen before but is awesome!) I flipped around on some blogs and did a Google search on how to save money on groceries.  I had hoped to do more homework but it wasn’t quite happening:)

2 Responses to “Media Diary Day 6”

  1. Is it possible that there are 80 jobs out there that you both are qualified for and would want to have? Sounds like a lot! (Maybe you’re just lucky!)

    Kind of amusing how you’re online all day at work and then you go home … and go online. But I do the same thing.

  2. I am a huge Arrested Development fan, too. I might of seen one or two episodes when it was on, but a few months ago Netflix reinspired my love of it. You know they are making a movie? I’m sure I’ll be seeing that one in the theater.

Leave a Reply

 
